Walker declares state of emergency in 7 counties

Posted Wednesday, June 26, 2013 --- 3:57 p.m.

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency in seven southwestern Wisconsin counties due to flooding.

Walker issued the emergency declaration on Wednesday for Ashland, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix, and Vernon counties. The declaration came after Walker toured flood-damaged areas near Boscobel.

Walker says he has also directed the Wisconsin National Guard, and other state agencies, to assist as necessary.

Walker says the state will work with communities to make emergency assistance funds available to eligible homeowners for rehabilitation and connect farmers with crop and livestock damage with assistance.

The governor says the Department of Natural Resources is also available to help residents and local governments concerned about well contamination.

Copyright 2013: Associated Press

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 213202261 - nbc15.com/a?a=213202261
Gray Television, Inc.