Decker named finalist for Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

Posted-March 8th, 2012 4:09 pm

MADISON, Wis – Wisconsin women’s hockey junior forward Brianna Decker was named a finalist for the 2012 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, USA Hockey announced today.

The Dousman, Wis., native becomes the fourth Badger to be named a Patty Kazmaier finalist and joins Jocelyne Lamouruex, from the University of North Dakota, and Florence Schelling, from Northeastern University, as this year’s finalists.

Decker was most recently named the 2012 WCHA Offensive Player of the Year and All-WCHA First Team. She currently leads the nation with 36 goals and is second in the nation with 78 point, averaging 2.11 points per game.

Earlier this year, Decker set the program's record for longest scoring streak at 32-consecutive games, recording at least one point in every game between Feb. 11, 2011 and Jan. 6, 2012. She has also recorded 24 multi-point games, 12 multi-assist games and nine multi-goal games this season. Decker sits fourth all-time at UW with 185 career points.

With her help the Badgers have earned the No. 1 seed for the 2012 NCAA Women’s Ice Hockey Tournament after posting a 31-4-2 record. For the NCAA quarterfinals, the Badgers take on Mercyhurst this Saturday, March 10, at the Kohl Center at 7 p.m.

Wisconsin’s previous finalists include Sara Bauer (2006, 2007), Meghan Duggan (2011) and Jessie Vetter (2009). All three won the Patty Kazmaier, with Bauer winning in 2006.

The year’s recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be announced live at a brunch ceremony in Duluth, Minn., during the Women’s Frozen Four on Saturday, March 17.

Tickets to the ceremony are still available and may be purchased by calling 719-538-1169 or by submitting a completed ticket form at Individual seats are $65, while tables of 10 are available for $600. The ceremony will be broadcast live at

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141969833 -
Gray Television, Inc.