Taylor named one of 11 finalists for 2012 Bob Cousy Award

Posted-Feb. 2, 2012 4:08 pm

MADISON, Wis. – For the second season in a row, Jordan Taylor finds himself among the best point guards in the nation. Taylor was selected as one of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball. An original list of 60-plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to a list of 20 and now 11 student-athletes.

Taylor, who was one of five finalists for the 2011 Cousy Award, leads the Badgers by averaging 14.1 points and 4.3 assists per game, while adding 4.2 rebounds and 1.0 steals per contest.

His scoring average is good for 14th in the Big Ten, while in conference games he is posting 16.5 points per game, which ranks fifth. Taylor also leads in assist-to-turnover ratio in Big Ten games and is second in all games at 3.10.

“We are excited to announce this year’s final 11 candidates, as they all exemplify the skills and talent necessary to make an elite point guard” John L. Doleva, President & CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, said. “The Hall of Fame looks forward to watching these players compete for one of college basketball’s most prestigious awards.”

The current listing of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 5 players on March 8th. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 2nd in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year’s recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut).

Taylor and the 19th-ranked Badgers are back in action on Saturday as they play host to No. 3 Ohio State Saturday at the Kohl Center. Game time is set for 1 p.m., and will air live on ESPN.

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 138598649 - nbc15.com/a?a=138598649
Gray Television, Inc.