Badger Men's Track takes another Big Ten Championship Title

For a record eighth consecutive time, the University of Wisconsin men’s track and field team won the Big Ten Conference Indoor Championships. The Badgers used a home-track advantage in the Camp Randall Memorial Sports Center to score 127 points. Purdue placed second with 102 points while Ohio State finished third with 82 points.

Sophomore Brandon Bethke added the 5,000-meter title to Saturday’s 3,000-meter title to key the Badger win. Bethke used a strong kick to win the 5,000 in 14 minutes, 23.84 seconds. Wisconsin scored an impressive 25 points in the distance event, which was the third to last event competed. Junior Matt Withrow, freshman Landon Peacock and junior Stuart Eagon finished in third, fourth andfifth, respectively. Withrow crossed in 14:29.85 while Peacock finished in 14:30.63, edging Eagon, who ran 14:30.81.

The 2008 NCAA Indoor Championships will be March 14-15 in Fayetteville, Ark.

Wisconsin Athletic Communications

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16171402 -
Gray Television, Inc.