UW Rowers go Undefeated in Indiana

The UW women’s openweight rowers traveled to Lake Lemon in
Bloomington, Ind. to take on the Hoosiers of Indiana on Saturday.
Wisconsin traveled two varsity boats, and each went undefeated in
Saturday’s competition.

The varsity eight won each of its three races by an average of five
seconds, while the second varsity eight won each of its three races over the second and third varsity eights of Indiana.

“The weather was beautiful, and it was a great day to row,” said
head coach Bebe Bryans. “We were pretty close to being amazed with
today’s outcome. The women all rowed great and for it only being our
second day on the water we were very pleased with the outcome.”

The varsity eight, coxed by Jess Bartelt (Jackson, Wis.), finished the
1,500 meter course in their best time of 5:02.7 in their first piece
race. The second varsity eight won all three races, including a best of
5:09.4 in their first race as they were coxed by Claire Geiger
(Evanston, Ill.).

After the weekend is over, the Badgers will have rowed close to 70,000
meters between practice on Friday and Sunday, along with competition on

“As long as we are here, the weather is nice and we have open water,
we might as well get in as much work as possible,” said Bryans.

The women are off next week before returning to action Apr. 7 in
Indianapolis, Ind. The women will get to face Indiana again, along with
Notre Dame as they compete in the three team dual regatta.

Second Varsity Eight/Third Varsity Eight Flight
Piece 1: UW 2V8 (5:09.4), IU 2V8 (5:12.8), IU 3V8 (5:24.1)
Piece 2: UW 2V8 (5:07.9), IU 2V8 (5:14.9), IU 3V8 (5:30.8)
Piece 3: UW 2V8 (5:17.9), IU 2V8 (5:22.7), IU 3V8 (5:39.9)

First Varsity Eight Flight
Piece 1: UW V8 (5:02.7), IU V8 (5:07.5)
Piece 2: UW V8 (5:05.1), IU V8 (5:09.7)
Piece 3: UW V8 (5:10.7), IU V8 (5:17.5)

Varsity Eight: Cox * Jess Bartelt
8. Theresa Shields, 7. Maggie Galloway, 6. Kylah Barbola,
5. Ana Cox, 4. Susan Masterson, 3. Denise Kragness,
2. Stephanie Koepp, 1. Shayla Dvorak

Second Varsity Eight : Cox - Claire Geiger
8. Sarah Wrenshall, 7. Jamie Genthe, 6. Meghan Roh,
5. Katie Helmrick, 4. Nichole Trumper, 3. Katie Karls,
2. Robyn Laatsch, 1. Stacey Nelson

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6688752 - nbc15.com/a?a=6688752
Gray Television, Inc.