Badgers Ammerman a Kazmaier Award Finalist

MADISON, Wis. -- Wisconsin women’s hockey forward Brittany Ammerman has been named a top-10 finalist for the 2014 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, USA Hockey announced Thursday.

The redshirt junior leads the Badgers in scoring with 22 goals and 17 assists so far this season, and she ranks 17th nationally in scoring with 39 points. Ammerman has tallied 48 goals and 48 assists in her 114 games as a Badger, leaving her just four points away from being the 19th UW player to reach the 100-point mark.

Ammerman paces the nation in power-play goals, recording her eighth of the season in Wisconsin’s 3-2 loss to No. 1 Minnesota on Feb. 14. She is also one of the country’s best in game-winning goals, ranking third with six this season.

The River Vale, N.J., native averages 1.22 points and 0.69 goals per game, the 16th best average in the country for points and seventh-best for goals.

Ammerman was named to the All-WCHA Academic Team in 2012 and 2013 and selected to the All-WCHA Rookie Team after receiving votes for the Preseason WCHA Rookie of the Year honor in 2011.

A gender and women’s studies major, Ammerman took a month-long trip to Africa last summer with Health by Motorbike, an organization dedicated to supplying health camps to women.

The nomination marks the fourth consecutive year in which a Badger has been named a top-10 finalist.

Wisconsin’s all-time top-10 finalists include Ammerman (2014), Sara Bauer (2006, 2007), Decker (2012, 2013), Duggan (2011), Molly Engstrom (2005), Meghan Hunter (2001), Knight (2009, 2011, 2012), Erika Lawler (2009), Carla McLeod (2005), Meaghan Mikkelson (2007), Bobbi-Jo Slusar (2006), and Jessie Vetter (2009).

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given annually to the top NCAA Division I women’s hockey player, is chosen by a 13-member selection committee based on individual and team skills, personal character and sportsmanship, competitiveness and love for the game of hockey. The committee also takes academic achievement and civic involvement into consideration.

Three finalists, including the recipient of the 2014 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, will be chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey, the national governing body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States. The top-three finalists will be announced on Thurs., March 6

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 247655721 -
Gray Television, Inc.