Three Badgers earn All-WCHA recognition

Posted-March 8th, 2013 8:28 pm

MINNEAPOLIS – Three Wisconsin women’s hockey players earned All-WCHA honors at the Western Collegiate Hockey Association awards program, held at TCF Bank Stadium Thursday night.

For the third-straight year, Brianna Decker was named to the All-WCHA First Team. Decker currently leads the Badgers with 29 goals (sixth in the nation) and 26 assists. She was also named a top-10 finalist for the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, and currently ranks eighth all-time in the NCAA for career points (244), seventh for career goals (115) and 15th for career assists (129).

Junior netminder Alex Rigsby was named to the All-WCHA Second Team for the second year in a row. This season Rigsby has the third-best save percentage in the nation (.943), and is the foundation of the Badgers’ defense which is averaging only 1.50 goals against per game, third best in the country. She has also started in all of the Badgers’ 34 games this season and leads the nation in percentage of minutes played.

Defenseman Courtney Burke rounds out the trio, earning All-WCHA Rookie Team honors. In her first season with the Badgers, Burke leads both the team’s freshmen and defensemen in both points (23) and assists (19). She has been a mainstay on the Wisconsin blue line all year, recording a +18 plus/minus.

Additionally, eight Badgers earned All-WCHA Academic Team honors: Brittany Ammerman, Natalie Berg, Jordan Brickner, Ilana Friedman, Kat Josephs, Alev Kelter, Stefanie McKeough and Alex Rigsby. To qualifty for the All-WCHA Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at their present institution prior to the current academic year and have a grade-point average of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

The WCHA Final Face-Off begins tomorrow afternoon with Wisconsin taking on North Dakota at 4 p.m. at Ridder Arena.

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 196226461 -
Gray Television, Inc.