Memorial's Maymon, Benton's Blaine win AP honors

MILWAUKEE (AP) -- Jeronne Maymon promised his coach he'd bring home a title going into last year's state tournament, but Madison Memorial came up two points short in overtime.

Maymon made a similar promise immediately after that loss to everybody on the team, and this time he helped make it happen when Memorial beat Racine Horlick for the Division 1 title.

Now Maymon is being honored as 2009 Associated Press Wisconsin boys basketball player of the year. A statewide panel of media members selected him for the award.

It's the second straight AP state player of the year award for Maymon, a senior who will move on to Marquette next season. Also nominated for player of the year were Racine Horlick's Jamil Wilson and Ben Averkamp of Germantown.

AP 2009 Wisconsin coach of the year honors go to Jim Blaine of Benton, who led the Zephyrs to the Division 4 title -- the first-ever championship for the tiny school with an enrollment of fewer than 90 students.

Also nominated for state coach of the year were Steve Collins, Maymon's coach at Memorial, Ryan Walz of Wisconsin Lutheran, Bob Letsch of Racine St. Catherine's, Oshkosh North's Frank Schade and Nate Rykal of Bay Port.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 41772582 -
Gray Television, Inc.