NBC15 Recognized as Storm Ready Supporter

Posted Wednesday, May 9, 2012 --- 12:20 p.m.

From the National Weather Service:

At 2:00 P.M. CDT, Thursday, May 10, 2012, two StormReady® Supporter informational signs will be presented to NBC15-WMTV Madison personnel in a brief recognition ceremony in their studio.

NBC15-WMTV Madison earned their StormReady® Supporter designation on March 28, 2012. This designation is valid as long as they meet the StormReady® Supporter guidelines. In doing so, they become the 7th StormReady® Supporter in Wisconsin, and the first commercial TV station.

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather. In general, a community or entity must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady® , the community or entity must:
• Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
• Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings, and information for their community;
• Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
• Promote the importance of public readiness;
• Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.

Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include:
1) Cities of…Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca, Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, and Hillsboro,
2) Counties of…Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine,
3) Entities/Businesses of…Camp Freeland Leslie BSA, Oxford; Experimental Aircraft Association, Oshkosh; Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes, Green Bay; Green Bay Packers; Hortonville High School, Hortonville; Virtual Care Provider, Milwaukee; Weather Central Inc./MyWeather, LLC, Madison; and WMTV- NBC15, Madison.

Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties and/or entities are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.
Nationally, as of May 9, 2012, there were there were 1913 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam:
932 Counties
760 Communities
111 Universities
11 Indian Nations
47 Commercial
31 Military
19 Government
107 TsunamiReady® Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam
216 StormReady® Supporters

Here is a link that shows a national map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters sites): http://www.stormready.noaa.gov/communities.htm. Click on Wisconsin to obtain more Wisconsin details.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
NBC15 615 Forward Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53711 Business: 608-274-1515 Newsroom: 608-274-1500
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 150801605 - nbc15.com/a?a=150801605