Wisconsin communities declare snow emergencies ahead of winter storm

By  | 

MADISON, Wis. (WMTV) - Beloit, Fort Atkinson, Janesville, Marshall, Stoughton, Sun Prairie, Ridgeway and Watertown have all declared a snow emergency.

That means residents cannot park on any city streets in these areas, to allow for trucks to plow the roads.

Rock County has issued a winter storm warning, advising residents to carry emergency supplies if they plan on driving during the snowstorm Friday night. Rock County is also warning of extremely cold temperatures forecast for the rest of the week, and asks residents to be prepared.

Rock County is offering warming centers across the county. Find the one nearest you in the attached document.

Dane County also issued a winter storm warning.

Snow emergencies declared Friday night:

City and Town of Beloit: Begins at 5 p.m. on Friday and goes until 5 p.m. on Saturday

Fort Atkinson: Starts at 12 a.m. on Saturday and will remain in effect until 12 p.m. on Saturday

Janesville: Starts at 10 p.m. on Friday.

Marshall: Goes into effect at 6 p.m. on Friday. It will run for 48 hours.

Stoughton: Canceled on Sunday at 1:15 p.m.

Sun Prairie: Starts 7 p..m. on Friday and continues until 12 p.m. on Saturday

Watertown: Begins at 11 p.m. on Friday and will run for 48 hours.

Boscobel: Immaculate Conception church will not be servicing a 8:15 a.m. service Saturday.