Officers to be honored after responding to Paradigm shooting

Published: Feb. 8, 2019 at 4:59 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Wisconsin State Assembly will recognize law enforcement officers for their involvement in the WTS Paradigm shooting last September.

Officers Tyler Loether and Richard O’Connor of the Middleton Police Department and Deputies Matthew Earll and David Lambrecht of the Dane County Sheriff's Department will receive the ‘Hometown Heroes’ award during a legislative session on Feb. 12.

“These four brave men are the heroes that saved our community from what could have easily been a massacre that day,” said State Rep. Hesselbein of the 79th Assembly District - where the shooting took place – in a press release. “While I know these men are humble, their actions represent the best of our ‘Good Neighbor’ community, which is why I nominated these four fearless men for our Assembly Hometown Heroes Award.”

The four officers shot Anthony Tong after Tong opened fire on his coworkers at WTS Paradigm in Middleton last September. Four people were injured.

The ‘Hometown Heroes’ award is given to Wisconsin citizens who make a significant difference in their communities.